Vibronic Coupling and Electron-Phonon Interactions in Molecules and Crystals:
XXIII International Symposium on the Jahn-Teller Effect

Tartu (Estonia), August 27th to September 1st, 2016

Proceedings of Jahn-Teller Symposium are now online at the following address (open access):
>> <<

Please visit Extras for conference photos and the materials shared by participants.
The book of abstracts is also available.

General information

Over the past decades an intense collaboration between Estonian and German researchers has developed in the field of condensed matter physics, reflected by the organization of a series of bilateral Estonian-German workshops in 2008, 2009, and 2011. From 2013 the bilateral format of the meetings has developed into an international scientific workshop on current topics in condensed matter physics and a special focus on nonlinear phenomena. In order to keep the workshop compact and its topics focused on the chosen problems, it is supposed that the number of participants will be limited and the participants will have to be invited/approved by the Organizing Committee.

Topics of the symposium

  • Nonlinear dynamics of crystal lattices
  • Strongly correlated electronic and magnetic systems
  • Solid state spectroscopy and nonlinear quantum optics

International Steering Committee

  • Isaac Bersuker (chairman), University of Texas at Austin, USA
  • Arnout Ceulemans, University of Leuven, Belgium
  • Claude Daul, University of Fribourg, Switzerland
  • Janette Dunn, University of Nottingham, UK
  • Wolfgang E. Ernst, Graz University of Technology, Austria
  • Pablo Garcia-Fernandez, University of Cantabri, Spain
  • Vladimir Hizhnyakov, University of Tartu, Estonia
  • Michael Kaplan, Simmons College, USA
  • Daniel I. Khomskii, University of Cologne, Germany
  • Horst Köppel, Heidelberg University, Germany
  • Hiroyasu Koizumi, University of Tsukuba, Japan
  • Susanta Mahapatra, University of Hyderabad, India
  • Nicola Manini, University of Milan, Italia
  • Spiridoula Matsika, Temple University, USA
  • Terry Miller, Ohio State University, USA
  • Tohru Sato, Kyoto University, Japan
  • John Stanton, University of Texas at Austin, USA
  • Boris Tsukerblat, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel

Organizing Committee

  • Vladimir Hizhnyakov (Institute of Physics, University of Tartu, Estonia)
  • Reinhard K. Kremer (Max Planck Institute, Stuttgart, Germany)
  • Götz Seibold (Brandenburg Technical University, Cottbus, Germany)

Supported by

  • Institute of Physics, University of Tartu, Estonia
  • Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart, Germany
  • Brandenburg University of Technology, Cottbus, Germany
  • European Union through the Regional Development Fund

UT_logo MAX_logo WE_logo