December 10th, 2011

Research plan:

The group is a renowned contributor to the theory of condensed matter and quantum fields. Some of the recent successes of the group include the discovery of percolative phase separation in high temperature superconductors (in collaboration with Nobel prize winner A.Müller; discovery of the effect of the zero-point motion of atoms in optical spectrum of superfluid droplet of 4He; general theory of vibronic transitions; prediction of local modes associated with vibrational solitons; theory of the magnetic incommensurability in cuprates, and modeling of defect formation and increasing of radiation stability of crystals. G1 has a number of joint publications with experimental group G2 in the fields of glasses, optical properties of solids, and plasmonics.

Expected results of future research: development of methods of simulations of ultrafast nonlinear dynamics of mesosystems (together with G6), development of new models of mesosystems (together with G2 and G4), development of theory of nonlinear quantum optics and nonlinear plasmon-photonics on discrete photon level (together with G2 and G3), prediction and study of new superconducting and magnetic mesosystems (together with G6), and new materials stable against radiational damage (together with G3).

G1 group:

  1. Vladimir Hižnjakov, DSc
  2. Vadim Boltruško, PhD
  3. Vladimir Fedossejev, PhD
  4. Mati Haas, PhD
  5. Laur Järv, PhD
  6. Helle Kaasik, PhD
  7. Piret Kuusk, DSc
  8. Hannes Liivat, PhD
  9. Inna Rebane, PhD
  10. Pavel Rubin, PhD
  11. Margus Saal, PhD
  12. Boris Sorkin, PhD
  13. Aleksander Šelkan, PhD
  14. Aleksei Šerman, DSc
  15. Imbi Tehver, DSc
  16. Niina Voropajeva, PhD


  1. Kaja Pae, doctoral student
  2. Erik Randla, doctoral student
  3. Taavi Vaikjärv, doctoral student